Journal articles are often a useful starting point in research when they address the topic of interest. Online access to hundreds of journals from around the world is available from the databases listed below.
On the e-resources listed here, you can search for the Title of a journal, and then locate an article in an issue.
If you don't know the Journal title, only the title of the individual article, a search can be done using Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com). Google Scholar may provide full text versions, or links to locations which hold a full text copy. Not all articles are found via Google Scholar, and while full text of all articles is not available, Google Scholar does provide valuable citation information.
These are links to key specific journals in Librarianship:
- Oxford Academic Journals
The topic is covered in a range of Oxford Journals in the humanities and Social Sciences fields.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Journals and individual articles can be searched from the DOAJ site.
- Google Scholar
A search of open access articles using the Google Scholar search engine.
- Taylor and Francis
Taylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
LISTA is a free research database for library and information science studies. LISTA provides indexing and abstracting for hundreds of key journals, books, research reports. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Cambridge Journals Online
Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of high-quality academic content across Cambridge Core, including leading journals, research monographs, reference works and textbooks.
