Oriental Studies: Yangon University

The reference databases listed here provide some Oriental Studies related materials. 

• Fragile Palm Leaves Database

  Its aim is to preserve Buddhist manuscripts and make them available through replication. The project's collection includes manuscripts in Pali and in several South East Asian languages, such as Burmese, Shan, Tai Khun, Tai Lue, and Mon. These manuscripts are in a variety of formats, primarily on palm leaf but also on paper and other materials. The project seeks to promote awareness of preservation, and exchange information with other projects in the region. The Fragile Palm Database is a resource tool that gives titles and other details for a large collection of palm-leaf manuscripts in Pali language and Burmese script and in Burmese language.
   
• Buddhist eLibrary
  The policy is to support the free dissemination of digital Buddhist educational material around the world and the systematic development of Dharma based pedagogy in partnership with Buddhist organisations worldwide. The Buddhist eLibrary follows the principle of 'One Dharma', that is, promoting all Buddhist traditions and the diversity of cultures and languages they represent. So far the eLibrary content is available in Chinese, Thai, English and now Spanish and Portuguese. We are planning to expand the range of languages to include the main European and Asian languages as well. We invite world Buddhist organisations, whether they are tertiary institutions, monasteries or related organisations to be involved with this project and support the database by providing content from their respective lineage or teacher, as this project will benefit the worldwide Buddhist community and the dissemination of the Buddha Dharma.
   
• Critical Pali Dictionary
  An excellent web interface for the Critical Pali dictionary.
   
• Buddhist Hybrid Sanskrit Dictionary
   
• Digital Dictionaries of South Asia (DSAL)
  Includes the PTS Pali dictionary; and Apte and Macdonnell's Sanskrit dictionaries. Prakrit forthcoming.
   
• Monier Williams Online Dictionary
  Online Sanskrit dictionary (University of Cologne).