Journal articles are often a useful starting point in research when they address the topic of interest. Online access to hundreds of journals from around the world is available from the databases listed below.
On the e-resources listed here, you can search for the Title of a journal, and then locate an article in an issue.
If you don't know the Journal title, only the title of the individual article, a search can be done using Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com). Google Scholar may provide full text versions, or links to locations which hold a full text copy. Not all articles are found via Google Scholar, and while full text of all articles is not available, Google Scholar does provide valuable citation information.
These are links to key specific journals in Oriental Studies:
- Oxford Academic Journals
The topic is covered in a range of Oxford Journals and articles in the humanities and Social Sciences fields.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Journals and individual articles can be searched from the DOAJ site.
- Google Scholar
A search of open access articles in oriental studies using the Google Scholar search engine.
- Taylor and Francis
Taylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
- Cambridge Journals Online
Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of high-quality academic content across Cambridge Core, including leading journals in oriental studies.
- Journal of Burma Studies
The Journal of Burma Studies is one of the only scholarly peer-reviewed printed journal exclusively on Burma. The Journal of Burma Studies is jointly sponsored by the Burma Studies Group and the Center for Burma Studies at Northern Illinois University.
- The Eastern Buddhist (on JSTOR)
The Eastern Buddhist carries articles on all aspects of Buddhism as well as English translations of classical Buddhist texts and works by modern Buddhist thinkers.
- Journal of Global Buddhism (OPEN ACCESS)
The Journal of Global Buddhism is an open access, peer reviewed scholarly journal established to promote the study of the globalization of Buddhism, both historical and contemporary, and its transnational and transcontinental interrelatedness. We publish research articles, special issues (special focus sections), discussions, critical notes, review essays and book reviews.
- Contemporary Buddhism (on Taylor & Francis, OPEN ACCESS)
Contemporary Buddhism is an international journal that publishes articles on the current state and influence of Buddhism. The journal is cross-disciplinary in its outlook and in addition to Buddhist and Religious Studies approaches, presents work from philosophers, anthropologists, psychologists, sociologists, historians, theologians, political scientists and other disciplines. Contemporary Buddhism examines the historical, doctrinal, literary, social, political, developments that have formed contemporary versions of Buddhism, East and West. In all this Buddhism is predicated as an inhabited and relevant action-influencing worldview.
-
Journal of the International Association of Tibetan Studies (JIATS) (Open Access)
The Journal of the International Association of Tibetan Studies (JIATS) is an online, scholarly, peer-reviewed journal. JIATS is an official publication of the International Association of Tibetan Studies (IATS), which convenes the world’s major conference for Tibetan Studies.
- Journal of Chinese Buddhist Studies (Open Access)
The Journal of Chinese Buddhist Studies (JCBS) is a scholarly journal dedicated to the historical study of Chinese Buddhism in the premodern and modern periods. It seeks to promote the academic study, and teaching, of all aspects of Buddhist thought, practice, social, and institutional life in China, including historical interactions with Buddhist developments in South, East, and Central Asia. The JCBS publishes annually, and meets in conjunction with the American Academy of Religion.
-
Journal of Buddhist Ethics
The Journal of Buddhist Ethics is the first academic journal dedicated entirely to Buddhist ethics. We promote the study of Buddhist ethics through the publication of research and book reviews and by hosting occasional online conferences.
