International Relations and Political Science - University of Yangon

There are no specific databases for political science. Resources are available on the Ebsco, JSTOR, Taylor and Francis, Sage Research methods, Oxford and Cambridge sites listed elsewhere in this Guide 

There are statistical databases that can be of use, as well as research papers in political science and links to web sites and newspapers.

• Global data at ICPSR

  Located among the international data holdings of ICPSR are foundational studies for the fields of international relations and comparative politics .   An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.  ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
  
  

• UN Data

  A single entry point for UN statistical databases allowing users to search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
   
• SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
  Free access to thousands of research papers from around the world . 'SSRN's objective is to provide worldwide distribution of research to authors and their readers and to facilitate communication among them at the lowest possible cost. We allow authors to upload papers without charge, and any paper an author uploads to SSRN is downloadable for free, worldwide. SSRN also provides free subscriptions to all of our eJournals to users in developing countries on request.'
   
• World Bank Data
  Includes World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Africa Development Indicators.
  Tip: Use the tabs to browse by country, topic, or indicators; or click Data Catalog and scroll down to access individual databanks.
   
• WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
  This is an Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in many international and global studies topics. Sites are carefully selected for their long-term value, favoring those with cost-free, authoritative information and analysis online.
   
• World Atlas of Global Affairs (OPEN ACCESS)
  This Gloabl Affairs Atlas was developed at Sciences Po in Paris and covers these topics: Contrasts and Inequalities; Mobility; Strategies of Transnational Actors; Insecurity/Peace; Resources and Regulatory Efforts using maps and charts.
   
• Newspaper sources of political events:

  World News
  BBC News: the BBC is one of the most respected news organizations on the Web. Great source for world news.
  The New York Times: the Grey Lady still has it: the New York Times continues to be one of the best sources for world news on the web.
  Reddit: Reddit is one of the top sources on the web to find crowd-sourced news items, and this includes breaking news stories that are updated by community members with insight and further resources in real time. If you're looking for truly up to the second news with an "everyman" sort of commentary, augmented by outside sources, Reddit is a good bet. 
  Google World News: More than 4,500 news sources updated constantly at the time of this writing. You can also create a Google news alert to keep track of your favorite world news topics.
  WikiNews: Pick your geographical region and/or language, and you'll see a community-curated repository of news articles collated by people all over the world - exactly replicating the Wikipedia collation process. 
  Alternet: On the Web in different iterations since 1997, Alternet provides an independent viewpoint of breaking news, mostly centered around U.S. events. 
  Reuters: One of the main U.S. breaking news wires, focusing on both U.S. and international events. Many stories from Reuters are syndicated on other sites. 
  PBS: Public broadcasting news for the last several decades; news here tends to be extremely well-balanced and non-partisan, and also includes good background information for further reading. 
  Google News Archive An extensive collection of original scans of old newspapers from many countries.