Journal articles are often a useful starting point in research when they address the topic of interest. Online access to hundreds of journals from around the world is available from the databases listed below.
On the e-resources listed here, you can search for the Title of a journal, and then locate an article in an issue.
If you don't know the Journal title, only the title of the individual article, a search can be done using Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com). Google Scholar may provide full text versions, or links to locations which hold a full text copy. Not all articles are found via Google Scholar, and while full text of all articles is not available, Google Scholar does provide valuable citation information.
These are links to key specific journals in Myanmar studies:
- Oxford Academic Journals
Myanmar linguistics and related topics are covered in a range of Oxford Journals and articles in the humanities and Social Sciences fields.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Journals and individual articles can be searched from the DOAJ site.
- Journal of Burma Studies
The Journal of Burma Studies is one of the only scholarly peer-reviewed printed journal exclusively on Burma. The Journal of Burma Studies is jointly sponsored by the Burma Studies Group and the Center for Burma Studies at Northern Illinois University.
- Google Scholar
A search of open access articles in oriental studies using the Google Scholar search engine.
- Taylor and Francis
Taylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
- Cambridge Journals Online
Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of high-quality academic content across Cambridge Core, including articles on Myanmar language and literature.
- Cambridge Journals online - search changed to Burmese
The search here was for Burmese language and literature.
- Cambridge Journals online - search on 'Sanskrit'
The search here was for Sanskrit language and literature.
- Academia.com
A collection of articles on Burmese Literature
- Modern Burmese Literature
This article is in the Atlantic and dates from 1958.
- Online Burma Library
Burmese literature - texts, reviews, profiles, obituaries, articles, papers, bibliographies etc
