Journal articles are often a useful starting point in research when they address the topic of interest. Online access to hundreds of journals from around the world is available from the databases listed below.
On the e-resources listed here, you can search for the Title of a journal, and then locate an article in an issue.
If you don't know the Journal title, only the title of the individual article, a search can be done using Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com). Google Scholar may provide full text versions, or links to locations which hold a full text copy. Not all articles are found via Google Scholar, and while full text of all articles is not available, Google Scholar does provide valuable citation information.
- Browse by Archaeology Journals from multiple sources
- Journal of the Archaeological Institute of America
The Journal of the Institute contains a wide range of articles. Search can be done by subject and region, across the full archive back to 1885.
- Cambrian Archaeological Association journal 'Archaeologia Cambrensis'
The Association provides research into the areas of Wales and the Marches. All the nineteenth-century volumes of the journal have been digitized by the National Library of Wales and can now be accessed online
- American journal of Archaeology and of the History of the fine arts
The American Journal of Archaeology (AJA), the peer-reviewed journal of the Archaeological Society, been published since 1897 (continuing the American Journal of Archaeology and of the History of the Fine Arts founded by the institute in 1885 ). Information about archived editions can also be found at this link.
- Advances in Archaeological Practice
Advances In Archaeological Practice is a quarterly, full-color, digital journal devoted to sharing creative solutions to challenges in the practice of archaeology globally.
- Open Access Journal of Archaeology & Anthropology (OAJAA) (OPEN ACCESS)
Open Access Journal of Archaeology & Anthropology (OAJAA) is a globally accepted journal that aims to publish innovative research developments promoting theoretical, methodological developments in the discipline of archaeology and anthropology. It is an Open Access journal offering full text articles.
- Open Archaeology Journal (OPEN ACCESS)
Open Archaeology is a new, peer-reviewed, electronic-only journal that publishes original, high-quality research on all aspects of archaeology. The journal encompasses novel, interdisciplinary approaches to archaeological data including archaeological science, theory and interpretation as well as archaeological heritage management and promotion.
- World Archaeology (OPEN ACCESS)
Available on Taylor & Francis. World Archaeology was established specifically to deal with archaeology on a world-wide multiperiod basis. Thirty years after it was founded it remains a leader in its field. The four issues of the volume are each dedicated to a particular theme of current interest. The fifth issue, Debates in World Archaeology , is a forum for debate, discussion and comment. All papers adopt a broad comparative approach, looking at important issues on a global scale.
- Open Access Archaeology (OPEN ACCESS)
Open Archaeology Search is a custom Google search engine that searches over 260 Open Access Archaeology publications, including journals and web resources. The search is currently in BETA testing and whilst it captures many Open Access publications, occasional restricted access publications can slip in.
- EBSCO Journals
- Open Access Archaeology Journals (OPEN ACCESS)
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) contains full text journals and articles from many countries.
- SSRN Anthropology & Archaeology Scholarship Network (OPEN ACCESS)
SSRN offers a large collection of working papers, both pre- and post-publication. These papers cover a range of academic subjects. The Anthropogy & Archaeology Scholarship Network specifically collects artciles and papers – over 350. It is free to register. Rankings are included.
- Looking to publish in an open access Journal? Looking for a specific publication?... then use Open Access Journal Search to find the journal that is right for you.)
