Journal articles are often a useful starting point in research when they address the topic of interest. Online access to hundreds of journals from around the world is available from the databases listed below.
On the e-resources listed here, you can search for the Title of a journal, and then locate an article in an issue.
If you don't know the Journal title, only the title of the individual article, a search can be done using Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com). Google Scholar may provide full text versions, or links to locations which hold a full text copy. Not all articles are found via Google Scholar, and while full text of all articles is not available, Google Scholar does provide valuable citation information.
These are links to key specific journals in Anthropology:
- Social Anthropology
Social Anthropology/Anthropologie Sociale is the acclaimed Journal of the European Association of Social Anthropologists, the major professional organization for anthropologists in Europe. While European in profile, this leading Journal has a global scope.
- Journal of Southeast Asian Studies
The Journal of Southeast Asian Studies is one of the principal outlets for scholarly articles on Southeast Asia (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, East Timor, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam). It embraces a wide range of academic disciplines in the humanities and social sciences.
- Oxford Academic Journals
The topic is covered in a range of Oxford Journals in the humanities and Social Sciences fields.
- Omertaa, Journal of Applied Anthropology (Open Access)
Omertaa, journal for Applied Anthropology, was launched in January, 2007. It is an international peer reviewed journal, with an academic board, publishing on issues which belong to the broader field of Anthropology and related issues.
- Open Access Journals in Anthropology
An extensive selection of Open Access journals in anthropology and related fields. All these journals provide free access to all articles.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Journals and individual articles can be searched from the DOAJ site.
