Journal articles are often a useful starting point in research when they address the topic of interest. Online access to hundreds of journals from around the world is available from the databases listed below.
On the e-resources listed here, you can search for the Title of a journal, and then locate an article in an issue.
If you don't know the Journal title, only the title of the individual article, a search can be done using Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com). Google Scholar may provide full text versions, or links to locations which hold a full text copy. Not all articles are found via Google Scholar, and while full text of all articles is not available, Google Scholar does provide valuable citation information.
Some leading journals:
- Proceedings of the Royal Society B
The Royal Society's flagship biological research journal, dedicated to the fast publication and worldwide dissemination of high-quality research
- Philosophical Proceedings of the Royal Society
Influential themed journal issues across the life sciences
- Zoological Journal of the Linnean Society (OUP)
- JSTOR
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.
- IOP Science
IOPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content.
- Cambridge journals Online
Includes full text for journals in zoology
- Oxford Journals Online
Over 300 journals in the humanities, social sciences, law, science, and medicine, two-thirds of which are published in partnership with learned and professional societies, including those dealing with zoology
- The Royal Society
It comprises nine high-impact titles in the physical and biological sciences. Subscribers also benefit from access to the Royal Society's Digital Archive which goes back to 1665.
- Nature Publishing Group Journals
A range of topical articles and research which could be of relevance.
- Taylor & Francis Online
Taylor and Francis Online provides access to articles from thousands of electronic journals, published by Taylor & Francis and its subsidiaries.
- Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
- Nature Publishing Group Journals
Nature Physics is a monthly journal publishing the highest-quality research in all areas of physics, pure and applied.
- Open Access Journals
An open-access e-journal search portal. Journals in English, over 4500+ titles, searchable at article level.
- The following titles can be searched on the EBSCO search screen:
